The BC Restaurant Hall of Fame was conceived in 2004 and the first groups of inductees were honoured in March of 2005. This is the first, and remains the only, Restaurant Hall of Fame in Canada. The BC Restaurant Hall of Fame was established to recognize the individuals in the restaurant industry who have made significant contributions to the BC restaurant scene; making it the finest in Canada.

Together, Bing Smith and Don Monsour, took their vision from conception to reality.

The inaugural group of sixteen inductees was lead by Erwin Doebeli and Umberto Menghi and included legends such as Nat Bailey, Hy Aisenstat, George Tidball, Bruno Marti and Harry McWatters. Our pioneers are being honoured, as they created our industry. Our active inductees are designing our future. Our friends of the industry assist us in making our present time a success and supporting us to our future successes.

The incredible changes in the BC dining scene which were made possible by the vision, creativity and unbelievable hard work of the individuals whom are recognized through induction into the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame.